The Museum of Art, Wine and Vine (MAVV - WINE ART MUSEUM) intends to make the Wine world widely known as an artistic, cultural, scientific and historical heritage of the territory and to promote the wine sector as a resource for economic development.
The project idea stems from the work of a group of professionals and managers who love the beautiful, wine lovers and experts in territorial development, who have combined their skills to set up a new company that has the ambition to become a reference point in the world of wine, with particular attention to the marketing and communication sectors connected to it.
The Museum of Art, Wine and Vine, is hosted and incardinated in the Department of Agriculture of the Federico II University of Naples, directed by Prof. Matteo Lorito. It makes use of a prestigious scientific committee chaired by Prof. Luigi Moio, coordinator of the Degree Course in Oenological Sciences at the University of Naples Federico II and world renowned winemaker. MAVV is a multisensory path for the Wine Experience that also offers visits to places, to the territory and to winemaking excellence.
The MAVV will have an institutional headquarters at the Polo Museale of the Palace of Portici, which will host exhibitions, museums, cultural and educational activities, virtual satellites and thematic, itinerant exhibition points located in evocative wine-producing areas particularly suited to Campania. They will act as a collector between the local productive fabric and the wine tourists through the organization of exhibitions, fairs and events on the promotion and dissemination of local products of high quality with the typical features of the territory. Furthermore, under the popular and scientific direction of Prof. Gennaro Rispoli, at the Museum of Health Arts - Historical Pharmacy of the Incurable - is hosted the Alchemic Laboratory of great interest and suggestion for teaching and cultural tourism.
Reggia of Portici
The MAVV - Wine Art Museum is housed in the prestigious Palace of Portici, a building commissioned by Charles of Bourbon after being invited by the Prince of Elboeuf Emmanuele Maurizio di Lorena to spend a day in his palace in Portici, Charles of Bourbon fell in love with the palace and decided to build a summer residence. The direction of the work was entrusted to the roman Canevari, and painters such as Giuseppe Bonito were called to decorate the rooms. The sculptures and statues of the park, made of Carrara marble, are attributed to Canart. The work of the Real Villa ended in 1742 and many of the aristocratic families of the time made to build villas nearby, creating a singular concentration of palaces and gardens known today as Villas Vesuviane, a cultural heritage of great importance. Over the years, the Villa underwent several changes. It was originally designed on a square plan, but it was enlarged in the French period with a whole new wing towards the sea and one oriented towards Vesuvius. The building is characterized by a superb façade with large terraces and balustrades. A large vestibule leads to the main floor with a spectacular staircase along which you can admire statues from the ancient Herculaneum, where as other architectural elements come from the factory. Of particular artistic importance is the "porcelain parlor" of Queen Maria Amalia, while originally near the palace, it is currently kept at the Capodimonte Museum in Naples. Another important element of the architectural complex is the large park, characterized by long avenues and structured like an English garden, originally a hunting reserve of the Bourbon King and extended from the sea to the slopes of Vesuvius. The Reggia was purchased by the Provincial Administration of Naples in 1871 with the specific and declared intent to allocate it to the School of Agriculture. It was the first for southern and insular Italy, the third in Italy and was preceded by those of Pisa and Milan after (1870). The three-year school was legally recognized by royal decree dated 14-1-1872, n. 658, and the inauguration took place on 9-1-1873. Starting from the academic year 1893-94, the duration of the courses changed to four years, and with the start of school year 1924-25 the school, as a result of the decree n. 2492 of 3-8-1923, assumed the name of Agricultural Higher Institute and completely depended on the Ministry of Agriculture. With the academic year 1935-36, following the transition to M.P.I., the Institute assumed the name of Faculty of Agriculture of the University of Naples. Starting from the academic year 2013-2014, in compliance with the Gelmini Law, the Department of Agriculture of the Federico II University of Naples was established in the Palace of Portici, whose management was entrusted to Prof. Matteo Lorito.
Historical Farmaci of Incurabili
The most beautiful place in the encounter between science and art is certainly the historical Pharmacy in the Incurable, which is also the most admirable and best preserved part of the ancient hospital of the Reame. An unsurpassed masterpiece of the baroque-rococo, it is at the same time an efficient laboratory of the drug and an intriguing place of representation for the scientific élite of the Neapolitan Enlightenment. The succession of rooms: counter-room, large hall, laboratories; shows a rigorous control of the spaces connected to the efficiency of a modern pharmacy together with a skillful harmony built by color references from the "riggiole" to the majolica, from the starfish to the golden carvings. Domenico Antonio Vaccaro, in 1729, executed the drawings for the new Fabbrica, to be made for the enlargement of the hospital of this Holy House. The elegant double piperno staircase of the pharmacy, which overlooks the courtyard like that of a particular villa overlooking the garden (as claimed by Roberto Pane), surrounds the bronze depicting Maria Lorenza Longo. The ramps lead to the Loggia embellished with marble portals surmounted by vases and diabolical masks symbolizing the double nature of the drug: on the one hand it heals, on the other it can become poison. Probably the internal plant of the pharmacy was taken care of between 1747 and 1751 by the engineer Bartolomeo Vecchione who used refined Neapolitan workers: Fucito for the carpentry, the stigli, the big counter; Di Fiore and Matarazzo for the carvings and the gildings; Crescenzio Trinchese for the marble and the urn of the Teriaca; the Massa riggiolari for majolica tiles decorated by Lorenzo Salandra.
It is currently accessed through controspezieria, an environment characterized by a large walnut briar counter and a ceiling divided into two elliptical domes interspersed with a beam wrapped in a stucco draped with puttos. The walls are covered with pharmacy buds that culminate with golden pyramid pinnacles and contain ceramic vases decorated en camaieu bleu with fantastic landscapes and figures. The silks are embellished by two raised wooden pharmacy gilded with 66 niches each containing vases and glass ampoules still containing residues of pharmaceutical products (both powders and resins that liquify). Many jars have a cartouche indicating the pharmaceutical preparation and do not always correspond to the specialties indicated in the incurabilino recipe book dating back to the end of the eighteenth century. Actually there are products like phytobezoar and products of mineral origin or from the animal world (jaws and teeth of marine animals) that represent a clear reference to the most ancient alchemical and esoteric tradition. As well as in the back room, probably also inserted in the laboratory rooms with ovens, mortars and alembics to set up galenic and chemical preparations, there is a large marble urn, made by Crescenzio Trinchese and allocated in a niche, containing the panacea for every evil, the Teriaca or Triaca.
The Director of the Museum of Medical Arts and Historical Pharmacy of the Incurable, as well as President of the Association "The Lighthouse of Hippocrates" is the eminent surgeon Prof. Gennaro Rispoli.
MAVV is a highly innovative reality because, in its documentary and didactic function, it offers multimedia and multi-sensorial paths to capture interest, attract visitors and stimulate complete experiential curiosity in the use of content with immersive reality. Museum communication is a strategic aspect that takes the form of a journey in which the visitor is put in a position to live an experience that involves him in a complete and stimulating way, not only through information and multimedia news in an original and innovative way, but making him/her also try out feelings and emotions that we synthetically represent as "Wine Experience".
The initiative, which fuses culture and creativity, intends to narrate our land and our places in an original and innovative way through events, history and tradition, spreading knowledge and flavors. In the online store, it is possible to purchase wine with derivative products, gadgets and the offer for enotourism routes called "Le Vie del Vino".
The museum exhibition element thus becomes a surplus value especially for the wine of the territory by reconstructing its cultural origin, inextricably linked to the history and culture, and making it become a scientific divulgation, narration and sensory experience.